Northland Schools Year 7 & 8 Short Story Competition

Run by Northland Branch NZSA (PEN Inc.)

Sponsored by The Northern Advocate and Jeff Oliver Design, Print & Distribution





PRIZES: Winning School \$100 First Place \$50 Second place \$30 Third Place \$20 Certificates for all shortlisted stories.

The winning story will be published in *The Northern Advocate* along with the author's photograph. Depending on space the other place-getters may also be published. All placed stories will be published on the Northland Branch NZSA website. <u>https://northlandauthors.co.nz/</u> Place-getters aged between 12 and 18 will also be eligible for consideration for the Northland Young Writers' Award run annually by the Northland branch of the Society of Authors (see website for more details on this).

Opens 1 April 2024, Closes 30 September 2024

Judged by:

Fraser Smith and Patricia Fenton

RULES: Emailed entries only. Entry forms can be downloaded from: https://northlandauthors.co.nz/

Entry Fee: \$1.00 per entry. There is no limit to the number of entries a school can make.

Word Limit: 50-300.

Theme/Topic is open. Students may submit any piece of creative writing that is their original work.

Writer's <u>name</u>, <u>story title</u>, <u>and word count</u> go on the entry form along with school/home school, class/teacher details. The entry form should be emailed along with the stories as separate docx or rtf files to <u>jowarren@actrix.co.nz</u> by 30 September 2024.

<u>Stories must include a title, but must not include the writer's name</u> as entries will be judged anonymously. Standard manuscript presentation conventions apply (1.5 spacing, indented paragraphs, plain font) Writers should be guided through an editing process aimed at perfecting their work before submitting it.

As our judges are not fluent in te reo Māori, all entries will need to be in English.

Entry Fees can be paid into the branch account, either through internet banking or at any ANZ branch.

NZSA-Northland Branch ANZ 06 0493 0251640 00

Code SSComp; Reference School name & Class/Teacher.

The Winners will be announced on 1 November 2024